Joan Merrill, MD.

Dr. Merrill is well known for precedent setting in her Biomarkers of Lupus Disease (BOLD) study, which revealed that decreasing background medications is essential to identifying efficacy of new agents. She took part in a ground-breaking study assessing anifrolumab in SLE. She received her medical training at Cornell University Medical College, New York, followed by an internship and residency at St. Luke’s/Roosevelt Hospital Center, a fellowship in rheumatology at NYU Medical Center, and a basic research fellowship at Columbia University

David Wofsy, MD.

Physician and Professor, UCSF, USA. Dr. Wofsy is a Professor of Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology at UCSF and serves as Associate Dean for Admissions for the UCSF School of Medicine. He has served on numerous NIH study sections, and on the Arthritis Advisory Committee of the Food and Drug Administration. Dr. Wofsy is a past-President of the American College of Rheumatology. 

Chaim Putterman, MD. 

Professor, Department of Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA. Dr. Putterman is a clinical rheumatologist who has published more than 200 articles and book chapters in the medical and scientific literature for lupus and arthritis. He was elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation, and is a member of the American College of Rheumatology and the American Association of Immunologists. Dr. Putterman has served on multiple NIH and international study sections, and is currently a member of several editorial boards.

Caroline Jefferies, PhD.

Associate Professor, Cedars-Sinai Department of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, USA. Dr. Jefferies has an extensive history of research on innate immune response pathways and myeloid cells in SLE. Her work has led to the identification of TRIM21 has a primary regulator of IFN I and IL-23 production, and has translated that work in the lupus setting. Her work is funded by the Alliance for Lupus Research.